My First Mini Sessions were AWESOME!

Last weekend I did my first Mini Sessions at Yoga for the Peaceful as a benefit. (50% of all proceeds will go to them.) With the nasty weather, I was so glad that we did it inside. The lighting there is just heavenly and I am so thrilled with how the photos turned out.

Here are just a few of the images that popped out at me while skimming through them this week.

First up was the Hegeman family. Sammie, my daughter, goes to school with Zoë, their daughter, and they adore each other! This family was so much fun to photograph – they are so laid back, funny and just all around wonderful people.

Colleen is a dear friend of mine and her daughter, Zoe, is one of Sammies best friends. Butch and AJ are just as awesome and they were wonderful to shoot!
Colleen is a dear friend of mine and her daughter, Zoë, is one of Sammie's best friends. Butch and AJ are just as awesome and they were wonderful to shoot!
This photo cracks me up. They look sort of moody and serious - definitely NOT who they really are!
This photo cracks me up. They look sort of moody and serious - definitely NOT who they really are!
AJ LOVED being tossed back and forth. Can you tell?
AJ LOVED being tossed back and forth. Can you tell?
Zoe kept showing me where AJ was headed next! Shes so hilarious.
Zoë kept showing me where AJ was headed next! She's so hilarious.

Next up was Shelley and her kids Avery and Owen. Unfortunately, her husband, Eric, ended up busy and was unable to join them for the shoot. But we had a great time anyway! Shelley is a delightful, caring person who has done immense amounts for Yoga for the Peaceful. My daughters adore Avery and Owen is a complete crack-up! Shelley’s kids are truly wonderful.

Shelley, Avery and Owen smiling for the camera.... They are such a close family!
Shelley, Avery and Owen smiling for the camera.... They are such a close family!
Owen was hilarious! He would alternate between hiding his gap-toothed grin, showing it off and giving a normal smile. But this one makes me smile the most!
Owen was hilarious! He would alternate between hiding his gap-toothed grin, showing it off and giving a "normal" smile. But this one makes me smile the most!
Avery is so photogenic! It was practically impossible to take a bad photo of her. I just love how her hat sets off her eyes in this shot.
Avery is so photogenic! It was practically impossible to take a bad photo of her. I just love how her hat sets off her eyes in this shot.
I just LOVE jumping photos - I think you can see who someone is in that moment that they are in the air... And I love the smiles when they get back to earth.
I just LOVE jumping photos - I think you can see who someone is in that moment that they are in the air... And I love the smiles when they get back to earth.

In the afternoon, I got to photograph Maeve again. Shockingly, I didn’t blog about my first time meeting her for Christmas photos with her little brother Hayden. I couldn’t believe how much she’d grown up since I’d last seen her! She was just a few weeks old for her first photoshoot. Hayden has also grown immensely, as well! These two are just the spitting images of each other at the same age – and both are just precious! I forget just how much I love shooting babies until I do a baby session!

Poor Maeve was teething and for some reason, I missed most of the smiles she gave me. She looks so serious in this shot....
Poor Maeve was teething and for some reason, I missed most of the smiles she gave me. She looks so serious in this shot....
Look at those eyes!
Look at those eyes!
It took a little prompting, but once I got Hayden smiling, it was almost impossible to have him stop! It was also precious watching how Maeve just LOVES her big brother!
It took a little prompting, but once I got Hayden smiling, it was almost impossible to have him stop! It was also precious watching how Maeve just LOVES her big brother!
Ahhh, precious little baby fingers and toes. Impossible to resist!
Ahhh, precious little baby fingers and toes. Impossible to resist!

Martha wanted a different kind of shoot, something I’d never done before – images for brochures she would be making for her personal training company in Boulder. I was a little worried about it at first, but Martha was wonderful to work with! We’d only talked a few times, but I had a delightful time shooting her and working with her. And it’s something I’d love to do again!

Marthas strength, balance and poise were wonderful to watch.
Martha's strength, balance and poise were wonderful to watch.
I just loved the definition in her shoulders and thought this pose showed it perfectly.
I just loved the definition in her shoulders and thought this pose showed it perfectly.
We also did a few artsy shots of her doing yoga which were a blast to shoot!
We also did a few artsy shots of her doing yoga which were a blast to shoot!

Thank you, all, for helping support Yoga for the Peaceful and for making this shoot so successful. Each of you were fantastic to shoot – I had fun at each one.

I am also hoping to do another “Mini Session” outside this summer and would love to know if you’re interested! You can either post here or head over to my brand new TippiePics Facebook page and I’ll be happy to contact you when I’ve got a date set!


On a side note, for those of you still waiting for the last installment of the inauguration photos, I hope to have those done soon. My daughter, Ellie, broke her femur right as I was finishing them up and I haven’t gotten back to them. Thanks for your patience!

One thought on “My First Mini Sessions were AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

