Inauguration Part 4 – Colorado Inaugural Ball

My dress in the window
My dress in the window

Ginger and I got back to Maggy’s house and got all dolled up. Ginger looked GORGEOUS! I absolutely loved her dress… Wow!

Anyway, we started walking towards the hotel running a little late. I was slightly worried about the will-call tickets – just hoping that they hadn’t abandoned handing them out and gone to the party. We looked for cabs, but none were found. Then I saw a bicycle cab and flagged her down! I’d ridden one here in Crested Butte, but it was more for fun. This was definitely a ton of fun, but it was for real – and got us there much faster!

Riding on the bicycle cab - pretty fun!
Riding on the bicycle cab - pretty fun!

We got to the hotel and sure enough, they hadn’t even let people into the Ball yet! It was 6:15 and we had no problems getting our tickets – I’d worried about it for no reason.

These boots have been a LOT of places with me! I love my Uggs! But I did put on some pretty little patent leather flats for the Ball...
These boots have been a LOT of places with me! I love my Uggs! But I did put on some pretty little patent leather flats for the Ball...

After taking off our boots and putting on nice shoes, we checked them and our coats and wandered inside with a drink. The food was truly fabulous! Something I definitely didn’t expect. Everyone was in a wonderful mood and within about 30 minutes of the Ball starting, the dance floor was full. I was shocked! I’d read an article in the Washington Post (I believe – I can’t find the article again! Whoops!) said that Inaugural Balls were boring, bland things with horrible food. Now maybe my standards are lower, but frankly, I was really impressed with it! The music rocked and aside from the overpriced drinks, everything was wonderful.

This couple looked so cute out on the dance floor by themselves - they were obviously in love. This was the emptiest the dance floor was the whole night.
This couple looked so cute out on the dance floor by themselves - they were obviously in love. This was the emptiest the dance floor was the whole night!
Ginger looked STUNNING in her dress. Im sort of mad that I didnt bring my flash with me... Next time?
Ginger looked STUNNING in her dress. I'm sort of mad that I didn't bring my flash with me... Next time?
Me in my dress. I have to admit, I actually got about 10 compliments on it! I was thrilled... And a little embarrassed.
Me in my dress. I have to admit, I actually got about 10 compliments on it! I was thrilled... And a little embarrassed.

My only real complaint for the evening, though, was that I had a horrible sinus headache that came on about half way through. Needless to say, I was pretty concerned about this  – I could deal with it that night, but NOT the next day! I did NOT want to have that much pain for the inauguration – that’s for sure!!!

I cant get over how full the dance floor was and how many people danced the night away!
I can't get over how full the dance floor was and how many people danced the night away!
And the lobby was packed, too! This was a huge Ball - much larger than I expected it to be!
And the lobby was packed, too! This was a huge Ball - much larger than I expected it to be!

I think by about 9:00 pm or so, we were both ready to head back. We were both pretty tired and wanted to get everything together before we made our escape. We got all our stuff sorted out, Ginger blew up the queen sized mattress and we both crashed at about 11 pm.

Me and Ginger crashed on the blow up bed for the night. *Yawn*
Me and Ginger crashed on the blow up bed for the night. *Yawn*

Leave a Reply

