Inauguration Part 1 – The Trip

Driving to Gunnison in the predawn chill
Driving to Gunnison in the predawn chill

My trip to DC was relatively uneventful. I got up quite early – around 5am – finished up a tiny bit of packing, made some coffee, got some money and headed down. I was happy that I got there with just a little bit of time to collect myself, blog a tiny bit and take a few photos.

Blogging as I waited to go through security
Blogging as I waited to go through security

It was a chilly 12 degrees when I got to Gunni so they needed to defrost the plane a bit. I had only seen it once before and thought it was really cool to see. But with the sun rising just behind the jets of fluid, it was gorgeous to watch!

A little sunrise de-icing
A little sunrise de-icing
Watching the sunrise on my way to Denver
Watching the sunrise on my way to Denver

Once in Denver, I had enough time between the scheduled flight to DC and my arriving flight to grab some breakfast – and some more coffee – while I waited. Just as we were about to board, though, they announced that our flight was having mechanical difficulties. Call me a weirdo, but I like to have those things fixed before I get in the air!

Twenty minutes later the word came down that they were getting us a new plane and the flight was delayed by about 90 minutes. Not a huge deal in the grand scheme of things….

It wasn’t until later that I realized that I didn’t even hear one grumble. Everyone was incredibly good natured about it. With about 50% of the plane – or more – obviously going there for the inauguration, that now doesn’t surprise me!

Not my plane. Not my departure time!
Not my plane. Not my departure time!

Sasha, another woman on the way to the inauguration, and I shared the plugs in an attempt to power up before our 3.5 hour flight
Sasha, another woman on the way to the inauguration, and I shared the plugs in an attempt to power up before our 3.5 hour flight
Lined up along the moving walkways waiting for our plane to arrive from Chicago
Lined up along the moving walkways waiting for our plane to arrive from Chicago

Now, I’m not one to sleep on a plane – especially with 2 cups of coffee in me – but I crashed about 10 minutes after takeoff. I blogged a tiny bit and then I was OUT! So unusual I can’t even tell you! But also very welcome since I hadn’t slept much the night before – excitement definitely kept me up.

Writing a blog or two on the plane before takeoff
Writing a blog or two on the plane before takeoff

Upon arrival, Ginger whisked me off for a quick car tour of Annapolis before heading to her house for a small football party!

Absolutely stunning sunset in DC
Absolutely stunning sunset in DC
Heading to Annapolis
Heading to Annapolis

To be continued….

(I apologize for taking so long. Sammie has been running a fever for days! She’s finally back at school, but she and Ellie sound like they might not be feeling well so I’ll get the next few parts done as quickly as I can! Thanks for your patience!)

Additional photos can be found here.

Leave a Reply

