Inauguration: Quick overview

When I left on this trip, I had several “projects” in mind and shot, up to a certain point, with those ruminating in my brain. I planned it out, I thought of shots I wanted and I pretty much kept it to myself. (I chatted with one or two people, but not much.)

But once I woke up that morning, my brain quit working that way. I realized that I just needed to stay open, shoot the photos I wanted to get and enjoy the moment. Be there. Be present.

Because of that, my photos turned out a bit different from what I expected. Not in a bad way at all, just different. And my little pre-planned projects are different, too. I’m still not sure exactly what I’ll end up with, but I know it won’t be what I had planned. And frankly, it’s kind of fun to have that happen! When I was planning things in my mind, I also promised myself that I’d be as open as possible to anything being different – and this allowed me to go with the flow.

Over the next few days I’ll try to get several posts recording the different parts of my trip. And I’ll try to weave through it the little things that pointed me in a new direction – and I’ll try “show” you how intensely amazing the whole experience was. It’s hard to capture in photos – but I tried. And it’s hard to put down in words – but I’ll try. Just stick with me. I’ll do the best I can!

For today, though, since I have very little time and a LOT on my plate for the next few days and it may take a few days to get it all out, I’ll just post a few shots. And I’ll add more as I find the right words and the right photos to share.

Thanks again to everyone who followed!

(Click on images for larger versions.)

Coffee! I hadnt had time to really eat or have coffee before I left for the airport so I snagged some in Denver while I waited for my flight to leave.
Coffee! I hadn't had time to really eat or have coffee before I left for the airport so I snagged some in Denver while I waited for my flight to leave.
With the flight delayed, I wasnt the only one chomping at the bit to leave...
With the flight delayed, I wasn't the only one chomping at the bit to leave...
Show your support by wearing Barack earings!
Show your support by wearing Barack earings!

It wouldnt be a Colorado Ball if I didnt wear boots, right? (Okay, I did end up changing into black patent flats...)
It wouldn't be a Colorado Ball if I didn't wear boots, right? (Okay, I did end up changing into black patent flats...)
The crowds going in were very amazing and impressive!
The crowds going in were very amazing and impressive! But everyone was SO kind and considerate it was incredible. Gives me chills just thinking about the vibe that day.
Yes, we actually got THIS close! The section in front of us was a ticketed section!
Yes, we actually got THIS close! The section in front of us was a ticketed section!
It was cold. VERY cold! And people did just about anything to be warm - including dog piling!
It was cold. VERY cold! And people did just about anything to be warm - including dog piling!
The pride on everyones faces just shined!
The pride on everyone's faces just shined!

Keep posted! I’ll be back with more over the next few days!

4 thoughts on “Inauguration: Quick overview

  1. fabulous shots! i want to have coffee with you and hear all about it! WHEN ARE YOU COMING BACK to Denver!

    Can’t wait for more images–they are just stunning in the true Andi Tippie way!

    MB

  2. what a great tease! (in a good way!) can’t wait to see the others as you get to them, but these are great! i’m so glad you got to be there… 🙂

  3. OMG! I have chills just seeing your photos! I knew they would be amazing…I keep checking back! What a most amazing experience and time our lives! Thanks for being present and thank you for passing it on to us all! Looking forward to future photos!
    Your friend from Austin!

Leave a Reply

