My story

Before we got too far along, I thought I’d share my story… This is what I posted for NPR – but more on NPR later!

One year ago, I was completely clueless. No interest in politics and only voted because I knew it was the right thing to do. But then I heard Obama speak on Super Tuesday and since then I’ve been VERY active. I volunteered, talked to family and friends and read just about as much as I could. And I have been incredibly impressed with most of what I’ve seen from Obama. And frankly, my husband has really enjoyed seeing me get this involved.

A few days before Christmas, I was about to sign up for a class on the 17-18 of January and my husband became agitated. He told me that he HAD to give me my present. And that I would cry when he did. I laughed and told him no, i wouldn’t cry and no, I didn’t need my present. He insisted and he and my daughters (3 & 5) handed me a small envelope. As I opened it up to find a photo of Obama and Biden with the inauguration banner, I just stared. And then cried.

He told me that he wanted me to go so that I could capture the day using my own unique style of photography. He felt that I could tell a different story about the inauguration, one about the people and the excitement. I can’t tell you how THRILLED I am with this chance. And I hope I live up to expectations!

2 thoughts on “My story

  1. your photos will be a treat for us all to see! what a wonderful family you have: one that truly believes in you, your passions and your talent!

    can’t wait to read all about it!!!

    mb

  2. This is exciting for you…I am a friend of your mom and by my address you can guess I am from “the other side”….Maureen and I have fun with this…I have attended 2 Inaugurations..1 as a member of the Electoral College and the other as a plain citizen…I hope you have connections with persons for good tickets and be prepared for cold, cold weather and lots of waiting in lines….call if I can answer any questions…looking forward to your pics
    Sam

Leave a Reply

